Wednesday, November 13, 2013

The Never List by Koethi Zan

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16158525-the-never-list?ac=1

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16158525-the-never-list?ac=1


Publication: July 16, 2013
Publisher: Viking Adult

 
The most relentless, deeply disturbing thriller writer since Jeffery Deaver and Gillian Flynn

For years, best friends Sarah and Jennifer kept what they called the “Never List”: a list of actions to be avoided, for safety’s sake, at all costs. But one night, against their best instincts, they accept a cab ride with grave, everlasting consequences. For the next three years, they are held captive with two other girls in a dungeon-like cellar by a connoisseur of sadism.

Ten years later, at thirty-one, Sarah is still struggling to resume a normal life, living as a virtual recluse under a new name, unable to come to grips with the fact that Jennifer didn’t make it out of that cellar. Now, her abductor is up for parole and Sarah can no longer ignore the twisted letters he sends from jail.

Finally, Sarah decides to confront her phobias and the other survivors—who hold their own deep grudges against her. When she goes on a cross-country chase that takes her into the perverse world of BDSM, secret cults, and the arcane study of torture, she begins unraveling a mystery more horrifying than even she could have imagined.

A shocking, blazingly fast read, Koethi Zan’s debut is a must for fans of Karin Slaughter, Laura Lippman, and S.J. Watson.
 

 
After finding out that there is a chance that her kidnapper might be released on parole, Sarah meets up with Tracy and Caroline, two other women that were held captive by the professor. Together is hoping that together they can make sure he never gets out of prison.
What the end up uncovering along their journey is bigger and more disturbing than they even imagined.
I liked that they were so determined to see that sick twisted creep rot in prison, but these ladies seemed to put themselves in some questionable situations. They did it a little too easily/willing for to me completely buy.

The Never List is a unique psychological story that somewhat mirrored an actual real life event. I’ve never read a book with this particular situation before, but it’s one that won’t easily be forgotten. While the book was interesting, I didn’t feel sucked into the story line like I thought I would. But I did want to know how it would all play out.

 

RATING: 3½ OUT OF 5.


** I received this book of behalf of the publisher, in exchange for nothing except my honest opinion. Thank you. **

 

BUY:


 

 

 

Join the Addiction:

0 COMMENTS:

Post a Comment