Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Book Review: The Pirate’s Wish (The Assassin’s Curse #2) by Cassandra Rose Clarke




Publication Date: June 18, 2013
Publisher: Strange Chemistry
Synopsis:
After setting out to break the curse that binds them together, the pirate Ananna and the assassin Naji find themselves stranded on an enchanted island in the north with nothing but a sword, their wits, and the secret to breaking the curse: complete three impossible tasks. With the help of their friend Marjani and a rather unusual ally, Ananna and Naji make their way south again, seeking what seems to be beyond their reach.

Unfortunately, Naji has enemies from the shadowy world known as the Mists, and Ananna must still face the repercussions of going up against the Pirate Confederation. Together, Naji and Ananna must break the curse, escape their enemies — and come to terms with their growing romantic attraction.


Ananna is a feisty yet often frustrating character.  She is so stubborn and childish at times.  For a pirate, she gets into trouble way more than she should. I would have thought that with everything she has experienced firsthand, she would be more cautious of her surroundings and possible danger, but she wasn't. With that said though, I did enjoy the story and felt that it was a nice sequel to The Assassin’s Curse.
Ananna and Naji begin the story stuck on an island waiting to hopefully be rescued soon. While there Annana encounters for the first time a haughty manticore. They develop an interesting and unexpected type of friendship. Once rescued by Marjani, Naji and Ananna’s main goal is to get through the three impossible tasks in order to lift the curse that bind these two together.
If you’ve read the first book, then you know that there wasn’t that much romance in the story, I was happy to discover that in this story there was a bit more romance/romantic tension.  
I enjoyed The Pirate’s Wish a little more than I did The Assassin’s Curse, but they were both fun and quick reads. Pirates, magic, fights, curses, a manticore, and some romance….all mix together to create one heck of a supernatural adventure. Fans of YA Fantasy and Pirates might find this book right up their alley.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

**I received this book on behalf of Strange Chemistry/Angry Robot in exchange for nothing, but my honest opinion only. Thank you.**

 

BUY:




Blog: http://lifeasabookaddict.blogspot.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/TheLifeTimesOfABookAddict
Twitter: https://twitter.com/BookAddict4Life 

0 COMMENTS:

Post a Comment