Thursday, September 11, 2014

The Weight of Blood by Laura McHugh



Publication: March 11, 2014
Publisher: Spiegel & Grau / Random House LLC.
Source: Publisher



For fans of Gillian Flynn and Daniel Woodrell, a dark, gripping debut novel of literary suspense about two mysterious disappearances, a generation apart, and the meaning of family-the sacrifices we make, the secrets we keep, and the lengths we will go to protect the ones we love.

The Dane family's roots tangle deep in the Ozark Mountain town of Henbane, but that doesn't keep sixteen-year-old Lucy Dane from being treated like an outsider. Folks still whisper about her mother, a bewitching young stranger who inspired local myths when she vanished years ago. When one of Lucy's few friends, slow-minded Cheri, is found murdered, Lucy feels haunted by the two lost girls-the mother she never knew and the friend she couldn't protect. Everything changes when Lucy stumbles across Cheri's necklace in an abandoned trailer and finds herself drawn into a search for answers. What Lucy discovers makes it impossible to ignore the suspicion cast on her own kin. More alarming, she suspects Cheri's death could be linked to her mother's disappearance, and the connection between the two puts Lucy at risk of losing everything. In a place where the bonds of blood weigh heavy, Lucy must decide where her allegiances lie.


The Weight of Blood is told mostly from the point of view of Lucy and her mother who disappeared when she was younger. Ironically, Lucy’s friend Cheri has been missing for a year and her body was recently found. 

With not too many people to call family except her father and uncle, Lucy feels alone and abandoned. So she sets out to find the answers she is looking for. Who murdered Cheri and what really happened to her mother. Not too long after she starts digging, she begins to think that there is a connection between these seemingly unrelated occurrences. And she faces some tough decisions about who she can trust and what is the right thing to do.

This story was interesting. There were a couple more points of views from other characters in the story, which was a little confusing at first, but I ended up enjoying it. I felt like it added a little more to the story. It was a little moodier than I had anticipated. And I wasn’t always on the edge of my seat in anticipation reading this, especially since the story-line felt a little slow. But it was a good read with interesting characters and a pretty enjoyable mystery.




RATING: 3 out of 5.




BUY THE BOOK:


Join the Addiction:
My Blog: | Twitter | BlogLovin’ | Facebook

0 COMMENTS:

Post a Comment