Sunday, March 23, 2014

The Burning (Maeve Kerrigan #1) by Jane Casey



Publication: August 30, 2011

Publisher: Minotaur Books



A determined young police constable goes it alone against an enigmatic killer and her bosses in a series debut for fans of Sophie Hannah and Tana French

The Burning Man. It’s the name the media has given a brutal murderer who has beaten four young women to death before setting their bodies ablaze in secluded areas of London’s parks. And now there’s a fifth.

Maeve Kerrigan is an ambitious detective constable, keen to make her mark on the murder task force. Her male colleagues believe Maeve’s empathy makes her weak, but the more she learns about the latest victim, Rebecca Haworth, from her grieving friends and family, the more determined Maeve becomes to bring her murderer to justice. But how do you catch a killer no one has seen when so much of the evidence has gone up in smoke?

Maeve’s frenetic hunt for a killer in Jane Casey’s gripping series debut will entrance even the most jaded suspense readers.


The first book in the Maeve Kerrigan series is told from two POV’s. That of Maeve Kerrigan, a young up and coming detective constable, and Louise North, a solicitor working at a financial firm who happens to be a friend of the latest victim, Rebecca.

The Burning starts off on a high note when a young woman fears she might be the next victim of the serial killer, “The Burning Man” and decides that she isn’t going down without a fight. Unfortunately for her and the residents of London she is mistaken, and the “The Burning Man” is still stalking the streets.

Maeve and her co-worker Rob Langton are investing the horrific murders of the five women who are supposed to be victims of “The Burning Man”. As they delve into the life of Rebecca (the fifth victim), they discover that everything doesn’t completely add up. And their investigation takes them someplace they hadn’t expected…

The Burning is a cleverly written crime mystery that is perfectly suited for a rainy weekend. Maeve is a solid strong character who is dealing with the stress of her job and her relationship with her live in boyfriend Ian. I enjoyed witnessing the banter between her and Rob. They have a good rapport and work well together. It wasn’t as much of a psychological thriller like I had first anticipated, but I did enjoy it and found the story to flow nicely.  

P.S. If you are a fan of mystery/crime novels or police procedurals, then you might enjoy this story. Now would be the time to check it out since the e-book version is on sale for $2.99 until the end of March!


RATING: 3½ out of 5.


**I received this book on behalf of the Publisher in exchange for nothing but my honest opinion. Thank you**



BUY:





Join the Addiction:


0 COMMENTS:

Post a Comment